Thanks to the unfinished fic thing I did, I've been re-reading some of my old (really old) fragments. Damn, there's some good stuff in there. Shame I never finished it. Quite a lot of it is comics based from the days I actually used to read the books, but there are little bits from other things. Heck, I once wrote wildstorm fanfic! Damn, I should've finished that fic where Majestic and Zealot spank the Authority. (and I used to like them, but wowza did they need someone to rein them in)

Reminded with the current Superman/WW hookup and rumors of a young WW liveaction show on the way, there was a time when I shipped Diana and Bruce (early JLA run, IIRC, ten years ago ish?). I even wrote fic. Where the hell did that snippet go? *rummages through HD* damn, must be on the old laptop.

Speaking of comics, I found signed Michael Turner Witchblade art today in our garage storage room. I'd forgotten we even owned it. RIP Mr Turner There was also a sketch signed by Marc Silvestri from my Darkness phase. Why, yes, hubby and I did attend Comic-Con back in the day. lol Gonna get them both framed for the house.

In other news, yuletide has posted the nominations brainstorm list, meaning that's starting to gear up. eeeeeeeeee. This means I need to think of fandoms to nominate. I feel very unprepared this year... hm.

Now, I shall go watch DINOSAURS!!! On a SPACESHIP!!!
lizardbeth: (Avengers - NR and CB)
( Jun. 28th, 2012 02:08 pm)
Meshing two timelines in a crossover is always problematic, but man, especially Avengers/Marvel movies stuff. That timeline is TIGHT, y'all. I think I can set the fic in the gap pre-Avengers, which on the one hand will give me even more to talk about than I thought before I realized some of the films overlap, but on the other hand, creates a problem with anyone in his right mind being skeptical when Iron Man is already public and Hulk Smash New York. But the best part is that I wrote about 2K of this PoI/Av fic yesterday. It's pretty fun.

Speaking of comic book movies, I was reading an article about the theoretical Justice League movie and Green Lantern especially. It's really sad when you watch Green Lantern because it's so frakking obvious that a committee was involved. You can tell that every few minutes some idiot DC/WB exec gave a stupid note about wanting more action or more villains or more everything, and left it a horrible convoluted mess to please no one. It's sad because a live-action Green Lantern could be really awesome (outer space! lots of cool aliens!) and there're bits of it that suggest there's a decent movie in there someplace if they'd let it. *sigh* I do not envy anyone writing the Justice League movie that's for sure.
I fell off the comics bandwagon long ago, after being pretty into it for ten years or so. Nowadays I only pick up the occasional issue and usually only if it ties into other interests (like the BSG comics, or that Pride and Prejudice graphic novel). But this could be awesome: X-Files- 30 Days of Night Crossover Miniseries.

Obviously it could also be crap, but at least the concept is cool and it doesn't require any canon massaging to bring them into line, IIRC.
Tags:
lizardbeth: (Sea and sky)
( Jul. 4th, 2008 02:17 pm)
happy independence day, fellow Americans!

Caught some sad news today (the fact that I had to read it in my local paper rather than online shows how much I've fallen out of touch with comics).

comic book artist Michael Turner died last week )
Today I wandered into my local comic book store (hubby wanted to buy the new Batgirl bust, which is adorable, btw), and found nothing. once upon a time, hubby and I were doing twenty-thirty titles a week. Of course the baby blew that all to hell- for awhile we could barely get to the store once a month. Going (all but) cold turkey really broke the addiction and now I can't go back. I still can't keep up with the multipart epics that seem now to occur every month and even the titles outside that stuff-- I'm so meh. Even Astonishing X-men which I continued to read pretty much purely for Teh Joss and Kitty and Scott, I can't cope with it anymore -- I don't like Emma (and the more I read them, the more I hate Emma/Scott with a thousand fiery suns) and I wish Piotr had stayed dead. It was kind of sad to look at all the titles I used to read and not want to pick up any of them again. Fannish glee all gone. :(

Or, maybe not, since I'm coveting that Kitty mini-bust like crazy. It has Lockheed, woot!
Tags:
.

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags