I have 2000 words and counting of a Galactica/Babylon 5 crossover. (it's all
lyssie's fault, I swear!). I even figured out a way to (somewhat) plausibly blend the two canons, I think. But because I don't do short X-overs (I hate wasting all that thinking to put them together in the first place, so they might as well get a plot too), this is only the beginning. I'm oddly SO tempted to post as a WIP. I normally don't because that way lies madness and incompletion and frustrated readers. Not to mention, plot holes and writing oneself into a corner and inconsistencies. But OTOH I don't think I'll finish without cheerleading - I have a lot on my writing plate already and crack is really not high up on the list. So. Anyone want to read it as a WIP or should I wait until I have more of it done?
At least I have time this afternoon to indulge in crack. Plumbers. Again. The people who redid this house in the late 80's were smoking something, but it was either very good or very bad, because EVERYTHING is a trial to fix. (ETA: God DAMN, my hourly is lower and I only get to charge for actual time worked! And then they're trying to make me sign off my 3-day contract recission right. Fuck that. For that much money, if your work sucks, I'm canceling)
Re: Galactica. I have more desire to rewatch SG'1's 'Space Race' for my fic than I do to watch "A Day in the Life". ooo, shiny show -- you really are just marking time until "Maelstrom" aren't you?
At least I have time this afternoon to indulge in crack. Plumbers. Again. The people who redid this house in the late 80's were smoking something, but it was either very good or very bad, because EVERYTHING is a trial to fix. (ETA: God DAMN, my hourly is lower and I only get to charge for actual time worked! And then they're trying to make me sign off my 3-day contract recission right. Fuck that. For that much money, if your work sucks, I'm canceling)
Re: Galactica. I have more desire to rewatch SG'1's 'Space Race' for my fic than I do to watch "A Day in the Life". ooo, shiny show -- you really are just marking time until "Maelstrom" aren't you?
From:
no subject
Bob
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I've noticed I've been treating the latest BSG episodes like 'okay okay, this MIGHT tide me over before the 'big event'' after hearing about Maelstrom. e_e But that's partly because I'm just as nervous as I am curious.
It could be awesome. It could be character breaking. It could be show breaking.
Or all of the above.
From:
no subject
*sigh* so, the fanfic gets crazier as the canon gets looser. It's a lww, I think.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
You're right, of course, that's EXACTLY what I am doing--but I have no idea how to escape the stereotypical/traditional/whatever notion of what it is to be masculine or feminine; and stereotypes, tho sometimes too broad to be of much use, can communicate something real and true. Other, of course, than to abandon using the idea of gender and stick to the more easily sussed principles of biology. Which is also unsatisfying. So how to define masculinity? And how to describe what it is in me that gives me this impression of myself? Deciding what to DO is not much of a problem; but how to think about it, how to understand it, is a whole separate kettle of fish.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject