Browsing the list of the eight eps that Sci-Fi is showing for the Viewer's Choice Marathon (a.k.a. Labor Day weekend, and we aren't going to waste a new episode on people who are going camping or visiting their grandmoters), I was struck by the inclusion of '2010'. Now I like '2010' okay, but I never had the impression it was a terribly popular episode. Unlike say, Window of Opportunity, which is widely loved, or the two parts of 'Lost City.' I just find it odd that it was one of the top eight.
Is it popular among a certain shipper corner or something like that? is Joe Faxon so adored? ;)
And something 'gatey I found funny - I was looking at the transcriptions of some of the episodes into Spanish. And Jack's little catchhrase, "For crying out loud" in Spanish? "Por todos los diablos!" It's great. Has a ring to it. I think I'm going to start use that in conversation, with the appropriate amount of weary frustration, "Por todos los diablos!"
Proving my insanity I signed up for the
sg_rarepairings ficathon. I'm nuts. And I just prevented myself from writing for
yuletide which I was thinking about doing. But now I have a schedule and a group of deadlines (contest fic due end of Sept and two ficathons due in November). That will help me produce (nothing like panic to focus the mind, I've found). And I'm making a bit more of an effort to engage in the wider fandom, which I really haven't been for a long time.
Anyway, I received my other ficathon assignment already. mmm. It's so open ended I can pretty much write whatever, as long as it has the requested pairing. This requires thinky thoughts.
Is it popular among a certain shipper corner or something like that? is Joe Faxon so adored? ;)
And something 'gatey I found funny - I was looking at the transcriptions of some of the episodes into Spanish. And Jack's little catchhrase, "For crying out loud" in Spanish? "Por todos los diablos!" It's great. Has a ring to it. I think I'm going to start use that in conversation, with the appropriate amount of weary frustration, "Por todos los diablos!"
Proving my insanity I signed up for the
Anyway, I received my other ficathon assignment already. mmm. It's so open ended I can pretty much write whatever, as long as it has the requested pairing. This requires thinky thoughts.
From:
no subject
any chance you are looking for suggestions??
will be in china until tuesdaq. Went out wqith the family last night and one of the dishes was something like frog, but they couldn't tell me what. :)
Bob
From:
no subject
When I was there, we had grasshoppers (or maybe locusts, something like that). Now, I'm a very adventurous eater and I did manage to eat one, but boy was it hard. ugh. It didn't taste like anything, as I recall, it was just the whole bug-eating that, um, bugged me. :)
and not so much suggestions, not at the moment. I have to think about it. Ponder. And then when I come up with nothing, I'll ask. :) thanks, though.
I was thinking about the con reports for BSG (and I know you read 'em. (g) When Tahmoh says Helo loses someone close to him, the reports qualify it, seems or maybe loses or something like that. I wonder if he's not being coy -- maybe he's looking at it as Helo. In other words, *Helo* believes he's losing/lost someone, but it turns out not to be true. So it seems that Sharon (or Hera or maybe Kara) are dead for a little while, Helo gets all torn up, but then finds out it's not true. (of course he already believes Hera's dead, so that's probably not it, come to think of it)
I did love the report that he and Grace walked into the writers and demanded a scene or two of tenderness so the viewers would understand *why* they're still in love. And they got it! YAY! (hopefully it'll stay in) very exciting stuff!
From:
no subject
They both get what they have jointly created with Sharon and Helo and its so cool.
Bob
From:
The Reasons why I liked Joe Faxon by Selmak
2. He's not Jacob Carter, Junior
3. He and Samantha seemed to have an healthy, ADULT relationship with both of them in love with the other. No snarky comments, no beating around the bush. Can you really imagine O'Neill talking to Carter in the scene about her not being pregnant yet? Put Jack in Joe's spot, would he be softly lamenting the fact that he had hoped that they'd have two by now? No, he'd grimance and make a quip.
4. He's not Jack O'Neill. Have I said that enough?
5. He's not in her chain of command.
6. He's not military
Then again, my favorite pairing for Sam is GEORGE! :P
From:
Re: The Reasons why I liked Joe Faxon by Selmak
but three, 'healthy' relationship... no. Remember the whole lying to her about the reason they can't have children? the part where he turned into a weasel? It was good up 'til then though.
It was a shame he got killed off in '2001'. I wouldn't have minded him back. And God knows the SGC could use some professional diplomats.
From:
Re: The Reasons why I liked Joe Faxon by Selmak
Yeah, the lying about the kids things well that was bad - but I might remember it wrongly (??) but I think Joe didn't think Samantha had been affected by it. It was a NIMBY - Not in My back Yard idea - where it's ok if it happens to someone else.
Helena
From:
Re: The Reasons why I liked Joe Faxon by Selmak
And you're probably right, now that you've reminded me, that Joe seemed to believe Sam was okay. Although didn't Sam tell Janet that they'd been trying and nothing was wrong with them for, like, years? You'd think he would've clued in... bah Don't remember well enough and I can't be bothered to go look it up,because, yeah, lazy. But he did know about the program, IIRC, and so weaselly.
But poor Joe, sucked into a black hole in the 'real' timeliine. Not a nice way to go.