lizardbeth: (BSG fans support the WGA)
»

MVP

([personal profile] lizardbeth Jan. 26th, 2008 07:41 pm)
Yesterday I was watching a new Canadian show MVP. I *ahem*ed it because Matthew Bennett is in it, and since knowing who he is managed to win me a cup from Katee Sackoff (well, that, and I think he's criminally underused as Doral), I wanted to check it out. I didn't know much about it, other than it's about hockey players.

I had to listen to other stuff at the time, so I opened it to see what it was like and if the version was watchable. Fortunately, the version I have came with subtitles, so it didn't matter that I couldn't have the sound on. Unfortunately, the subtitles were in French, and my grasp of French is more than ten years gone. oops. So I didn't quite get what people were saying most of the time, though the meaning was pretty obvious (it's a soap - subtlety doesn't seem to be a strong point from what I could tell). The subtitle of the show on IMdB says it's "The Secret Lives of Hockey Wives" - which makes it sound like it might be the Canadian version of "Footballers Wives", but I don't know if it's a direct redo or not.

In any case, since it's full of good looking, built guys who run around with no shirts (and yes, I can be shallow like that -- you're shocked, I know), and Bennett is playing a skeevy team owner, I think I'll watch at least the first few and see how it goes. I'd rather watch a soap opera about hockey than American Gladiators or any of the other crap that's coming to my t.v. very shortly, that's for sure.

(y'know, it would be awesomely perfect if a Doral was the owner of the C'Bucs...)
Tags:
.

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags