Friday morning, we woke up very late. My dear spouse had fifteen minutes to get out the door to work, and I had thirty minutes to get my short person in clothes, fed, and to his doctor's appointment.

The reason we woke up so abominally late? No electricity. No alarm clock (which is supposed to have a battery, but it's only good for a short outage)

When I came back from the doctor's? Still no power.

When I came back from visiting my parents (who are renting a place for their visit) that afternoon? I lost a quarter bet with my dad, because I thought for sure the power would be back on, twelve hours after it went out. Wrong.

When we all came back from dinner? Still no power.

Twenty four hours later, in the wee hours of the morning today? FINALLY.

Did we have some massive snowfall or a hurricane to account for this? no. Twenty-five mile an hour winds. Yes, everyone who lives in a place who has actual weather can begin laughing right now. I had power on faster after the Northridge earthquake!

But the most jaw-clenching annoying thing about it? The houses across the street (some of them with their irritatingly cheerfully bright Xmas lights) and the houses starting seven up from us, on the same side of the street -- HAD ELECTRICITY.

So, no power. no cable. no net. and after my laptop battery ran out, no computer. Only a whole lotta food I've got to get rid of. GAH!
.

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags